2018 Alumni Honouring Feast

Join us for a fun filled evening on April 26, 2018 to celebrate NEC Alumni Achievements at the Annual Honouring Feast.

This year's event is held at the Musqueam Community Centre at 6pm.  You can purchase tickets at Eventbrite.  

Gala poster  

2018 NEC Alumni Award Recipients

2017 Academic Achievement - Jeanine Petel

This award recognizes the accomplishments achieved by an NEC Alumni member who has demonstrated outstanding academic performance from the most recent year of the program.


George Manuel Educational Excellence Award - Lyle Dixon

This award is named after George Manuel, the influential Grand Chief who made a significant difference in how Indigenous people are considered at the National and International level. This award recognizes NEC graduates who have continued to pursue and achieve higher post-secondary education.


Wanda Bolton Community Service Award - Allyson Fraser

This award is named after Wanda Bolton, a former NEC Program Coordinator and passionate advocate, as well as a teacher whom continuously demonstrated excellence in community service. This award recognizes NEC graduates who demonstrate excellence in community service.  

Chief Joe Mathias Leadership Award - Jimmy Lulua

This award is named after Chief Joe Mathias, the former Chief of Squamish Nation worked towards having Aboriginal Rights and Title recognized by the federal and provincial governments. This award recognizes NEC graduates who exemplify leadership in their careers and communities.

Gertie Guerin Visionary Award - John Webster

This award is named after Gertie Guerin, one of the founding members of NEC who began the organization with a vision to have a place for Indigenous people to begin their learning journey. This award recognizes a former NEC Board Member who strives toward empowering Indigenous people.